dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?
Autor da sequência: Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Dinamarca
Local time: 13:29
Membro (2010)
Inglês para Norueguês (bokmal)
+ ...
Oct 1

I have received a job offer from the agency dokupartner (http://www.dokupartner.de) for a 22,000 word manual, but I don't find them registered on ProZ, and no entres on Blue Board. Is there anyone who has been in touch with them and know if they are a serious agency or if this may be a case of fraud?
Their contact person is Cristina Schmidt.

[Edited at 2026-10-01 09:35 GMT]


 
Lieven Malaise
Lieven Malaise  Identity Verified
Bélgica
Local time: 13:29
Membro (2020)
Francês para Holandês
+ ...
Depends Oct 1

The website "www.dokupartner.de" seems to be legit. But there's also "www.dokupartner.online" and that's probably a scam website, at least according to Gemini.

What email address did they use?


 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Dinamarca
Local time: 13:29
Membro (2010)
Inglês para Norueguês (bokmal)
+ ...
Autor do assunto
email seems legit Oct 1

Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person cont
... See more
Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person contacting me, was Cristina Schmidt with the email [email protected]
At least she is not using gmail.com as email.
▲ Collapse


Lieven Malaise
 
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 12:29
Membro (2007)
Inglês para Português
+ ...
@Roy Oct 1

A 22,000-word project as your first job for an agency you’ve never worked with before? It really does sound like a scam. I did a search using the name of your contact and the agency’s name, and it came up with zero answers. If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…

And yet

Website: OK
Address: OK
Telephone: OK
Email: OK

Maybe it's legit...


[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


expressisverbis
Thayenga
Zea_Mays
Véronique Vanseveren
Philip Lees
 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Dinamarca
Local time: 13:29
Membro (2010)
Inglês para Norueguês (bokmal)
+ ...
Autor do assunto
Thanks Oct 1

Thank you for the suggestion.

 
Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Alemanha
Local time: 13:29
Membro (2009)
Inglês para Alemão
+ ...
Always check Oct 1

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida wrote:

If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…



[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


When you're in doubt, just follow 'Teresa's advice. This is what I have been doing when in doubt. Sometimes the person does work there, sometime s/he doesn't. Better safe than sorry.


Roy Oestensen
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
 
Gregor Trebec
Gregor Trebec
Eslovénia
Local time: 13:29
Inglês para Esloveno
+ ...
when in doubt, C4 Oct 1

It looks legit. She is using company's email. BUT 20.000 words as first assignement sounds realy strange, if not desperate.

 
Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Suécia
Local time: 13:29
Alemão para Sueco
+ ...
Phone Oct 1

The old-fashioned way to confirm someone's identity is to phone them via the company switchboard or a phone number provided on the company's website (NOT whatever is given in the e-mail).

The company can still turn out to be a non-payer, but a lot of obvious scams are filtered out.

And look up the company financials - they will be published somewhere.

I'd definitely do both if 22,000 words from a new client are involved.


Daryo
Zea_Mays
expressisverbis
 
Frank Zou
Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 19:29
Membro (2016)
Inglês para Chinês
+ ...
Ask for prepayment 01:24

My suggestion is to ask for prepayment and staged payments as you submit parts of the translation. That way, you can be somewhat sure it's not a scam — especially if they're willing to pay in advance.

Joakim Braun
Gregor Trebec
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

Moderador(es) deste fórum
Lucia Leszinsky[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?







LinguaCore
AI Translation at Your Fingertips

The underlying LLM technology of LinguaCore offers AI translations of unprecedented quality. Quick and simple. Add a human linguistic review at the end for expert-level quality at a fraction of the cost and time.

More info »
CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!

Translate faster & easier, using a sophisticated CAT tool built by a translator / developer. Accept jobs from clients who use Trados, MemoQ, Wordfast & major CAT tools. Download and start using CafeTran Espresso -- for free

Buy now! »